Hyderabad before Hyderabad – Part IV

The tl;dr Version

The Ikshavakus were the last major Telugu dynasty to rule over the region after the Satavahanas in the first millenium CE. The 800 years following the Ikshavakus saw a whole bunch of dynasties – the smaller ones such as the Salankayanas, the Vishnukundinas, the Telugu Cholas and the larger ones such as the Pallavas, the Chalukyas, the Western Chalukyas, the Eastern Chalukyas and the Rashtrakutas. Each of these kingdoms were quite culturally distinct and it wasn’t until the Kakatiyas in the 11th Century CE that a major Telugu kingdom flourished in the region. Before we move on to the last millennium of history that we intend to cover in this blog, a (graphical) re-cap of the region’s history during the first millennium:


Note: Kingdom boundaries have been roughly drawn. They are meant to be indicative only. Kindly take images with a pinch of salt. Or a plate of Biryani.

About Double ka Meetha

Chronicler of all things Hyderabadi. And old.
This entry was posted in Before the Sultanate, The Kingdoms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What say you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s